Grade of Zelator question

Q&A and discussion on the Path of Initiation

Moderator: Moderators - Public

Grade of Zelator question

Postby milkBoxx » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:24 pm

Concerning the grade system of A.'.A.'. (or G.'.D.'.)
If a zelator has hit Chesed (in Yesod) does he swear the oath of the abyss before moving to Hod?
Or is it Binah in Yesod that he is hitting? The movement appears similar, not to mention the 3=8
makes me think of 8=3 or MT. I may be completely off track, but reading Liber 913 and it's assignment
to Zelator (Yet many references to it being the work of an exempt adept) makes me think so. I also recall that a Zelator cannot move to Hod without swearing it (I've also read things contradicting this as well, consider that Crowley saw MT's in everyday life who were non initiates, no formal oath I assume).
Can I have another NANA!?!.....Can I have another NANA!?!....
User avatar
milkBoxx
Gold Member
Gold Member
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:11 pm

Re: Grade of Zelator question

Postby Mike » Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:22 am

93.

Speaking as someone not in the A.'.A.'. :
milkBoxx wrote:Concerning the grade system of A.'.A.'. (or G.'.D.'.)
If a zelator has hit Chesed (in Yesod) does he swear the oath of the abyss before moving to Hod?
Or is it Binah in Yesod that he is hitting?


I think you're confusing the Grade system here. For analytical purposes, we can view things as being related to a Sephira-with-a-Sephira, but the Grades and Oaths don't work like that. The Zelator, operating officially from within Yesod, opens to Hod, takes the Oath of that Grade, and then commences working from there. In the Zelator's personal work, it may make sense for them to analyze their progress up a "sub-Tree" within Yesod, but that is a separate matter.

milkBoxx wrote:I also recall that a Zelator cannot move to Hod without swearing it


I've never heard that, and it doesn't make sense in the context of the A.'.A.'. system. That Oath is a very particular Oath that comes at a certain stage of the Adept's development (in theory). The Zelator isn't expected to be prepared for that.

93, 93/93.
The Sun, strength & sight, light.
User avatar
Mike
Ultimate Spark of the Intimate Fire
Ultimate Spark of the Intimate Fire
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:39 am
Location: USA

Re: Grade of Zelator question

Postby Jim Eshelman » Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:52 am

milkBoxx wrote:If a zelator has hit Chesed (in Yesod) does he swear the oath of the abyss before moving to Hod?

The Oath of the Abyss is warranted at the Abyss, not a sub-s'fiyrah level in each of the 10 s'fiyroth.

Otherwise... well, it's really the Oath of the Abyss. I can't tell you not to take it, but, in the spirit of your question, the answer would be no, that's not what's expected are generally warranted there.

Or is it Binah in Yesod that he is hitting?

These sub-sefs are worth observing IMHO, as part of witnessing one's process and journey, but one shouldn't obsess on them too much. That's more the road to craziness. I was first particularly aware of them near the end of Neophyte when I had nearly everything finished, there was a surge of energy to wrap up the last couple of assigned tasks, a sense of "passing a line" or moving into a stretch, and suddenly finding myself interpreting everything around me in terms of the Buddhist Three Characteristics - which, of course, to the three Supernals one-for-one. I soon put it in perspective that these were the three Supernals in Mal'khooth. The main point, though, is that I didn't get distracted by them and just noticed the scenery while wrapping up the couple of tasks and moving on.

The movement appears similar, not to mention the 3=8 makes me think of 8=3 or MT.

This is Y'sod's innate associative power {*******} with you. Yes, nice pun. Yes, jumps up and catches the mind. However, if it's not part of the formal assigned work of the grade, just notice the scenery, write it down, and move on.

BTW, there are lot of 2=9s across history that suddenly thought they'd crossed the Abyss! This delusion screwed most of them up a fair bit. I advise against buying into the delusion. The magical error here is called "mixing of the planes," which in practice often means losing perspective on exactly where you are and what's going on.

I may be completely off track, but reading Liber 913 and it's assignment to Zelator (Yet many references to it being the work of an exempt adept) makes me think so.

The better question here is, "For what particular reason is this 7=4 instruction also provided to the 2=9?" I think I probably give one answer for this in M&MAA: There is one part of the instruction that's particularly useful for a key thing that happens in 2=9.

I also recall that a Zelator cannot move to Hod without swearing it

That's pure bullshit. Completely wrong. You won't find that in a single A.'.A.'. source document.
Love is the law, love under will.
Yours in L.V.X.,
Jim Eshelman
www.jeshelman.com
"Success is thy proof: argue not; convert not; talk not overmuch!" - CCXX 3:42
User avatar
Jim Eshelman
Lost His Marbles
 
Posts: 9579
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:41 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA


Return to Initiation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron